James Whitlock
4 min readDec 7, 2021

--

Jak X Combat Racing Review (Playstation 2)

When I first heard that a fourth installment in the Jak and Daxter series was to be released, I was excited. After all, being a hardcore fan of the trilogy, I couldn’t wait to see what was in store next for the duo. However, when I learned that Jak X was going to be a racing game, I was a little disappointed. While I’ve never been a fan of racing games, I figured I should still give the game a try. Honestly, I sure am glad I did.

The story in Jak X takes place when Jak and his friends are requested to attend the reading of Krew’s will. Veterans of the Jak series will remember Krew as the fatty who floated around Jak II. One of the attendants at the reading is none other than Krew’s daughter, Rayn. Before the reading, Rayn asks for a toast to her father. Although reluctant, Jak drinks his glass only after he witnesses Rayn finish hers off. It is not until a little later that a holographic image of Krew informs everyone, including his own daughter that they had drank a slow-acting poison, and the only way to get the antidote is to win the Kras City Grand Championship race.

Also, located all over the course are four different forms of eco, including: green eco, which represents the health of your vehicle; blue eco, which boosts the speed of your vehicle; yellow eco, which represents your vehicle’s attack weapons; and red eco, which are used as a source of defense. Each of these four forms of eco are essential in order to be victorious in missions.

--

--

James Whitlock

https://www.linktr.ee/Mogarth Retro and modern game collector and enthusiast. Check out my linktree for my Instagram profile, ebay account, and game list.